Shri Sharda Bhavan Education Society's

Yeshwant Mahavidyalaya Nanded

NAAC Reaccredited at 'A'  Level(3rd Cycle) with 3.29 CGPA
College with Potential for Excellence (CPE) status
Best College Award by S.R.T.M. University, Nanded

Department of History

About Department

Mission: History as a torch to lighten the path of future.

Vision: To strengthen the students for sustaining in the global competition

  Department of History is started with the opening of college in June 1963. The post-graduation Department and research Centre in History is the only granted P. G. education facility in the region since 1963 A.D. The Department of History is equipped with qualified staff with Ph.D. and research guides approved by University. In addition to the qualified staff, The Department has most of the information technology gadgets like Interactive Board, LCD, OHP, Computer, internet facility’s, digital cameras, video camera along with a lot of CD’s and DVD’s on History.
 The Department of History is one of the leading Research Centre ‘Centre for Deccan studies’. The Department has been guiding the aspiring researchers in Research Methodology. Department had also organized 22nd Akhil Maharashtra Itihas Parishada national conference in History. Recently Department of History, Yeshwant Mahavidyalaya, Nanded organized One Days Interdisciplinary National Conference on Contribution of Tourism in National Development (CTND2020)on 16 March 2020. Under UGC, CPE,COHSSIP plans Department has developed photography section in the department with all necessary equipment’s. Department have enlarged many photographs of ancient, medieval and modern period.
 Department have developed a small museum of art pieces made of plaster of Paris presented to the department by National Museum, New Delhi. Department have a good collection of coins on ancient, medieval and modern age in which many copper and silver coins are displayed. More than 60 students qualified with SET/ NET exam and More than 40 students awarded with M.Phil and More than 50 students awarded with Ph.D.Former head of department Shri.D.S.Pawar, John Alexander, Dr.P.R.Deo, Dr. B. S. Dhengle, Shri P.L. Bilolikar, Dr. K. A. Lohgaonkar, Prof. Dr. U. S. Sawant, Dr. N.A. Salunke and Mrs.Dr. Sangita Shinde had greatly contributed in enriching this department. Presently, Dr. Shivraj Bokade shouldering the responsibility of department as a head.